Dolly's Dishes

Super mom to the rescue, one dish at a time!

Maple Apple Chicken September 25, 2010

Filed under: Chicken — emilylhh @ 9:11 pm
Tags: , ,

This was our dinner tonight. My boys, who “love” chicken (I use love very loosely here) actually ate this chicken! And didn’t save it until last, as usual. This recipe originated from Betty Crocker, although I tweaked it. I thought this would be much better on chicken versus pork.

Plus, the recipe I made last night (coming soon!) I switched and used pork when it called for chicken. As much as my husband is a carnivore, I didn’t think he’d be thrilled having pork chops twice in a row. I think it would be nice as a glaze on pork chops if you grilled them.

You’ll need:

Boneless skinless chicken breasts (although I imagine bone in thighs with skin would be great too)
Pepper
Salt

Garlic Powder
1/4 c apple butter
1/4 c maple syrup (I cheated and used pancake syrup, not the real stuff. still great!)
1/2 tsp ground mustard

I turned my oven to 350* and put my chicken breasts on a foil lined sheet. Rubbed the chicken with a little olive oil and sprinkled equal amounts of salt, pepper and garlic powder onto them and let them cook for 30 mins or until the juice runs clear. (I always cut them open with a knife to make sure they’re done.)

On the stove top I mixed the apple butter, syrup and ground mustard together until hot and bubbly. (I doubled the sauce recipe, we like it saucy around here!) About 10 mins before my chicken was done, I spooned the sauce onto the chicken and put them back into the oven to perfect. Perfection.

Sorry about the photo — I ate most of my dinner before remembering to take the picture 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

